Module Reviews || S1 2015-2016

This round of module reviews are short because I’m doing my thesis and stuff.

HL4017: Advanced Studies in 18th Century Restoration || Professor Samara Cahill

Love this module. While a little heavy on theory, this course is also extremely interesting. I mean, cmon, you get to debate about taste. It doesn’t get much better than that. Be prepared for complex readings though: the theory is not at all easy to grasp.

HL4019: Advanced Studies in Victorian Literature || Professor Tamara Wagner

I do think this 4000 level course is great for those of you out there who hate theory because there is like, absolutely no theory. Bonus? There are also no exams (since this is a 100% continuous assessment class). That said, do come prepared for long readings since this is a class based on the novel. I dropped this class though because the timings do not work as well for my timetable (that is to say, I did not drop the course because I found this class lacking in some manner).

* CM8002: Forensic Science || Professor Roderick Bates

So far, so good. Interesting stuff, but be prepared for disturbing pictures. Also, I have a suspicion that those who have not touched the hard soft sciences in JC/Poly may struggle.

Edited since Biology is considered a soft science.

* I will go back to review this course and pass my very unexpert judgement once I actualy get through it due to the way this course is offered.

Leave a Reply

